Rules for Adding and Removing Storage Groups

The following rules govern adding and removing a storage group:

  • A storage group can be added or removed from a SM only.

  • One storage group can be added or removed at a time.

  • A storage group assignment is allowed on a SM when it is in the RUNNING state.

  • An SM cannot transition from servicing individual storage groups to servicing all storage groups. If desired, initialize an SM with the storage-group all database option.

  • Similarly, an SM cannot transition from servicing all storage groups to servicing individual storage groups.

  • Removing a storage group from the database requires the storage group to be empty. The storage group may not be mapped by any table partitions in the database.